Star Trek 2

6 Jan

So right on the heels of this news:

Star Trek 2

“Two British television stars have reportedly been cast in the upcoming sequel. First up is Noel Clarke, best known as the Doctor’s former companion Mickey Smith on Doctor Who, who has been cast as “a family man with a wife and young daughter.” Clarke has confirmed his casting on his Twitter, though he didn’t comment specifically on what character he is playing. [Variety]

Next up is Sherlock star and owner of the most awesomely, ludicrously British name in history, Benedict Cumberbatch. He’s reportedly been cast in an undisclosed part, and that it’s reportedly a “lead role.”

I got very upset about the possibility of having to see Star Trek 2 in theatres based on the actors in the film.  I am a huge fan of Simon Pegg, Sherlock and Doctor Who and of Star Trek TOS, but I was not a huge fan of the last new Star Trek movie. ”

My rant went something like this:

Mickey:   Yea and Spock and Uhura… making out.  Plus planet exploding (Alderaan) um.. getting lost on ice planet (Hoth, although YAY for Leonard Nimoy!) the pacing was all Star Wars, not Star Ttrek.  I didn’t think it was an awful movie, just wished they’d kept the pacing of Star Trek, one thing about the originals is that it’s very cerebral.  A problem presents and normal methods don’t work, then it’s a lot of discussion about how to fix things.  Explained best by Philip J. Fry:

Fry: Usually on the show, they came up with a complicated plan, then explained it with a simple analogy.
Leela:  Hmmm… If we can re-route engine power through the primary weapons and configure them to Melllvar’s frequency, that should overload his electro-quantum structure.
Bender: Like putting too much air in a balloon!
Fry: Of course! It’s all so simple!

So I didn’t hate the movie, but I didn’t love it either.

Here was Lela’s take on it.

Lela:  I never watched the original remember? We had this convo.  But I would agree that the pacing of Star Trek was Star Wars-y.  I really enjoyed the movie though.  I think I watched it about 9 times… 

And because I loved Star Wars so much I was okay with it, the effects, the eye candy. 

Now, given the little I do know about Star Trek, I was not comfy with Spock getting down with the chick…  It logically, did not make sense.  I can see him maybe doing what she said because he loved her but didn’t understand the feeling, but yeah, didn’t like that part.  However the rest, okay by me. 

My dad is a huge Trekkie though and he loved the new movie.  I would imagine you feel the way about the new star trek as I feel about the new Clash of the Titans.

Blasphemous crap. 

Mickey:  Everyone felt that way about the new Clash of the Titans.

So yea… of course the admission that ST2 had a lot of Empire influence as well:

Producer Bryan Burk also discusses the sequel, suggesting the movie hits the ground running in a way the first one couldn’t:

“Unlike the last film, where we were restarting and setting up the characters … we’re going to jump right back in, and we don’t have to set up everybody and we can go right in it. We’re kind of in a mad dash at the beginning of the film. In all of our conversation, we reference a lot of our favorite films and how ‘Empire Strikes Back’ was spectacular and how they were able to pick up and keep going.” 

*sigh*

Anyway I’m going to throw out that everyone should be following George Takei  and Wil Wheaton on twitter as they are hilarious. 

And I will leave you with The Onion’s review of the Star Trek 1.  (And yes, I do know people IRL  that HATED the new Star Trek movie.)

http://www.theonion.com/video/trekkies-bash-new-star-trek-film-as-fun-watchable,14333/

Leave a Reply

