Blast from the Past

7 Jan

So “Blast from the Past” has been running on cable TV and I tivo’d it.

How tickled was I that Nathan Fillion was the jerk boyfriend in this?  I giggled and still imagined him as Captain Hammer.

I love rewatching old films and finding people in the background before they were famous.  Remember Nickelodeon’s “Are you Afraid of the Dark?”  There is an episode with Ryan Gosling in one.  Or Milla Jovovich in “Married with Children”?  Or “Foxfire” with Angelina Jolie?  Or “Bad Attitudes” with Eugene Byrd?

On the other hand, when I saw Ethan Embry in “Masters of Horror” I went…..  is that the same guy from “Can’t Hardly Wait”?  Which also starred Peter Facinelli, Sarah Rue, and Clea Duvall.

Now who is up for a game of Seven Degrees of Kevin Bacon??

***Update 1.9.2012:

I just spent the entire weekend rewatching Firefly because of BftP.

3 Responses to “Blast from the Past”

  1. Lela January 9, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Holy hottie browncoat batman! How could you forget the
    Captain was in Blast from the Past? Do you even like silly Brendan Frasier movies? What about Bedazzled? I frickin LOVE both of those movies.

    Also lets not forget School Ties. Anybody who was anybody in 1997 was in that movie. Matt Damon, Chris O’Donell, Ben Affleck and lets not forget my one of my favorite ginger’s Cole Hauser. Why he gotno love is beyond me. Anyhoo

    “Take my love, take my land, take me till I cannot stand. I don’t care, I’m still free you can’t take the sky from me!” We need to post on how Firefly was one of the greatest series ever that nobody watched. BROWNCOATS fo life!

  2. toonerdygirls January 9, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    Firefly WAS one of the best shows no one watched. The premise for it was really smart, with English and Mandarin in the future plus the lack of technology in the further planets, makes a ton of sense. The acting was really on point from everyone. and even though you KNOW they’re going to make it, there is still tension in every episode.
    -mickey
    “It’s all really sci-fi.”
    “Well, we are on a space ship.”

  3. toonerdygirls January 10, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    also Zac Efron as young Simon Tam!

Leave a Reply

