Image

What the Movies Wear

11 Jan

effie

capitolcouture.pn

So back in 2008-2009, I was part of an online group discussing stories.  This may have also included trading songs and pictures that may have reminded us of the characters.  It was a fun group of people and each night, I’d check in with the group to see the new updates, new comments and have discussions.  One of the girls told me I had to read The Hunger Games.  Now, I have never met this girl in real life but I did trust her judgement and gave it a go…  and lost interest in the first chapter.

Mark, from “Mark Reads” (http://markreads.net/reviews/2010/11/mark-reads-the-hunger-games-chapter-1/) made some good points about choppy sentences and info dumps that I had to agree on.  It was interesting but didn’t enthrall me, and I had already read Battle Royale,  so I put it down.

A few weeks later, I had run out of books to read in my house (YES, this is a thing that happens) and went back to it, starting back from the beginning. This time I was unable to put it down and the moment I finished the first book, I emailed my friend and I have been obssessed ever since.  I finished the second novel in two days and when the third book came out I read it in one.

So, with the countdown to the movie coming up there has definitely been a gear up in marketing.  The above being released today as a website for Capitol citizens.  (the password is #lookyourbest)  Fashion is a huge part of the book since everything is televised.  They need the audience to remember them and are even given their own stylists to help them stand out from the crowd.

So now that I’m looking at all the costume designs coming out, I am floored.  I know there was speculation but the author gave her blessing and it looks amazing.  It reminds me how important costume design is to any movie or show or play to immerse the viewer completely into this new world.

In Firefly, I spent as much time staring at the costume choices as the scenery and CGI. (I didn’t love the costumes in Serenity quite as much)  Think about how iconic Darth Vader’s presence is even now or the Jedis.  Imagine Captain Jack Harkness without his WW2 RAF coat,  the 10th Doctor without his trainers or the eleventh Doctor without his bowtie.

Anyone who has spent any time at a convention or in certain neighborhoods on NYE, know how certain parts of a costume are important to the characters themselves.   Sometimes all they need is one part; Jayne’s hat, Boba Fett’s helmet, Harry Potter’s glasses, Jason’s hockey mask, these are their signatures, just like Katniss’s braid and Effie’s pink hair.

I am hoping this much detail is infused into every scene of the movie because the above image makes me even more excited for the upcoming movie.

Who knows, maybe I’ll go to a midnight showing in costume?

5 Responses to “What the Movies Wear”

  1. karenangela7 January 11, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

    I felt the same about Hunger Games when I first read the book. It took me weeks to get back at it about during the time when I was dead bored. I got hooked ever since. I even got me an ID pass.hehehe

    • toonerdygirls January 19, 2012 at 6:56 am #

      which district? i am 7. i haven’t done anything fro mthere because i wasn’t sure how

  2. Mickey January 11, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    So… Her mouth is freaking me out. Its very “Ichi the Killer”. The lips end but the mouth keeps going. Don’t stare at it too long, it really is creepy.

    • Lela January 12, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

      I’ve been thinking bout going in costume. You know, thus giving me another excuse to purchase a bow and arrow. The first being the impending zombie apocalypse of course…

      • Mickey January 13, 2012 at 1:30 am #

        Pulling an arrow out of a zombie corpse to reuse doesnt sound like fun when the horde is coming after you. But i certainly think you could rock the side braid.

Leave a Reply

