Come Along, Watson

26 Jan

So today on twitter, someone in the FF (that’s fanfiction for those not in the know) community tweeted about BBC’s version of Sherlock Season 2… and then I fan girled.

I grew up reading Sherlock.  I watched  the old black and white films with Basil Rathbone.  I really disliked the new film (sorry RDJ!).

So when someone came to me and asked me to give these shows from BBC a try… well… I was hesitant.  But the casting and the fact that Steven Moffat had a hand in it… well… come on, who can argue with the Doctor?  Especially for anyone who has seen “The Girl in the Fireplace”, “Blink” or “The Eleventh Hour”. (and of course Neil Gaiman’s “The Doctor’s Wife”)

And I am so glad that I gave it a chance.  I was pleasantly surprised at how true these characters were to canon while transplanting them into the modern day world.  It worked and it worked extremely well.

I was amazed at how many others joined in the conversation, though in real life I may have problems getting people to try it out.  CBS has announced that they will also do a modern day version of Sherlock.  We’ll see how successful their version will be.  For now, this is one of the best things to watch.

In the meantime, they will be acting together again in the movie “The Hobbit”.  This was a great sick movie for me and I would watch in on repeat when I was growing up.   Martin Freeman is playing Bilbo Baggins and Benedict Cumberbatch is Smaug.  Can’t wait!

2 Responses to “Come Along, Watson”

  1. bibliopirate January 26, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    I love the new Holmes so much, although I haven’t had the chance to see the second series.

    • mickey January 26, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

      I haven’t seen it either yet and have to stay away from certain forums so I won’t catch spoilers. The one thing I love about the show is the little nods to the books and stories that they do throughout.

Leave a Reply

