Hero Worship and Celebrity Wierdness

13 Feb

Sherlock says: Don't make people into heroes.

Okay, so yea, we live in a world where super heroes don’t exist.  We do however live in a world where a sense of fame, celebrity and money certainly outweighs our respect for other people.  How did I get on this topic?  Well I read an article earlier in the week where a sports team went to another country and kind of underhandedly went after a kid still in highschool, threw a lot of money at him and now he won’t finish school because he’s going to instead, come to the US and get paid too much money to mostly sit on a bench. .. Wait, what??  I also read an article on how Charlotte Church is involved in a trial against the media tapping her phone lines… again, what??  CNN showed “Breaking News” the other night, that Whitney Houston had died.

I have a hard time watching the news.  I find it frustrating that there is nothing that separates entertainment news from politics, financial or world news.  I don’t care about the opinions of the newscasters and I never ever understand why they play a clip and then talk over it, giving me the Cliffnote version of what happened.  I graduated highschool, I can comprehend what they are telling me.  A lot of times, I just want the facts.  I want to read what it says, I want to see what words the publisher chose to use.  There is a huge difference in a title that says something DOES something for you and something that MAY do something for you.  I want sources to be cited and trials to be linked and listed and who these mysterious “they” are that people will always give you advice on.

I digress… as always.

My friend had an email conversation that explored the internet backlash on one, Lana Del Rey.  I don’t care one way or another about her name change, makeover and new image.  Hell, Madonna made a career on makeovers and Prince changed his name to a symbol.  There are some people very angry over her new image, like they feel cheated or betrayed.  I didn’t hear this much backlash over the BEP’s when they went from underground to mainstream. People want to make money and they may need to make some changes to do it. Not everyone is going to like it but if they want to make money at what they do they have to cater to what the public wants and need to make changes to make themselves memorable.

Loving Lana del Rey’s retro look.

Our conversation devolved into a discussion of whether the internet created this phenomenon of wierd celebrity status.  I remember playing games on computers using greenscreen and before the days of graphic interface.  I remember chat rooms, oh remember those! But I can’t say if the internet helped make this mentality.  Before the internet, you may not know what the singer on that one song might look like.  Hell, I remember hearing songs on the radio and there was no way to look it up, you would have to ask around or people would call radio stations directly to ask! … Am I showing my age yet?  But for the life of me, I can not understand bombarding sports figures and celebrities when they go out with their kids or when they forget to wear make up or even finding out where they live and showing up at their homes?!!!  I mean, one, they are real people too and I am sure they have their moments of wanting privacy and distance.  What is it that makes people think that they are owed something by them?  I mean, yes, you may buy tickets to the concerts, sports events and movies may help pay some of these people’s insanely outrageous salaries but they don’t owe their fans anything.  I have met a few celebrities that were rude and while disappointed, I mean, I didn’t know them.  Their public persona is not who they are and while it would have been neat to meet someone famous and maybe have a short conversation with them and a picture, they do not owe this to me because chances are, I am not the only fan they have.  I may have been the 30th in line that day and they were just tired, maybe they had a bad day, maybe they are really very shy although they don’t seem that way on screen or in concert?  And people that get angry about being snubbed?  Well it’s not the celebrities fault that you put them on that pedastal.  I mean, why are they there?  Because they can run fast, sing well or play pretend convincingly?  I know there is this mentality that they are better than the general public… but at some point in time, they were were the general public too right?  Famous people are fans just like the rest of us.

tomtrager:</p><br /><br /><br /><p>Abed is Batman now. I love that speech at the end of “Introduction to Statistics”, it’s so funny.<br /><br /><br /><br />AVAILABLE AS A TEE AT:<br /><br /><br /><br /> http://www.redbubble.com/people/tomtrager/works/8350736-abed-is-batman-now<br /><br /><br /><br />

Leave a Reply

