Too Many Books :)

28 Feb

 

I am in the process of moving into a new home.  The problem is, I am living out of the old one so I have spent the last 4 weeks packing all the things that I am not “immediately” using.  This included totes upon totes of books. 

I spent the last weekend organzing the three bookshelves that are at the new home.  There are still bookshelves and books at the old home.  But we have this room that I’m told is a “formal sitting room”.  This is the room that I started setting up the shelves in and cleaning and filling up.  Someone came over in the midst of this and said to me “Why are you putting bookshelves in here?”

“Where else would I put them?”

“In your study or computer room?”

Now even though this house is twice the size of the place I currently live in, no room would be ambitious enough to be called a study.  It is also debatable whether an entire room will be designated just for the computer as this would mean not having a place for guests to stay.  But this “formal sitting room” seems like a wonderful place to put books.  It gets wonderful lighting and the name indicates I am already putting chairs in the room.  Wouldn’t it make sense to put some books out for people to read?

Then the person said to me, “How many books can you have?”

……..

I looked around and realized I had two rooms full of boxes of books and hadn’t even brought them all over.  I know I still have books in boxes at my parents house (The Nancy Drew Collections!)

Someone did point out to me that the person who commented was NOT a reader. 

I only know that with the new “sitting room”  I already plan on buying better book shelves, but I am going to use a free chair left by the old owners.  It smells fine and I plan on cleaning it, but it IS, unfortunately,a pink velvet, yikes! But if I have the money, I would rather have a place to store the books than a new chair to read in.

 

 

“Books are a hardbound drug with no danger of overdose. I am the happy victim of books.” – Karl Lagerfeld

2 Responses to “Too Many Books :)”

  1. lelajazz February 29, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    There is NO SUCH THING as too many books.
    I want to turn my front room into a library. My problem, I don’t have enough books. YET.

    Ultimately, I would love a library ala Beauty and The Beast. With a ladder to climb and swivel around all my wonderful books!

    A girl can dream.

    • toonerdygirls March 1, 2012 at 7:43 am #

      i would be happy to give you books 🙂
      i have some to spare
      sometimes I worry that this will be the future of books though:

Leave a Reply

