Avengers Showing Off the Goods (also drinking game rules)

17 May

ASSvengers

From: Mickey
To: Leela
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 8:57 AM
  

Saw it!

From: Leela
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 9:21 AM
To: Mickey
  

AND?!?!??!!??!?!?!

From: Mickey
To: Leela
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 9:37 AM
  

I liked it, alot.  It was good. It was the anti-Matrix. It started slow and then built up to a good finale (as opposed to starting out with wonderful potential and falling to shit the last 30 minutes)

I could have probably done w/o the 1.5 of backstory though

HA! You call THAT a backstory?!

But it ended on a really good note which I appreciated.

I think I developed a little crush on captain American

I can see why loki got to you, he was great because he wasn’t one dimensional

Mark ruffalo was the best part

I still dislike gweneth paltrow

And I HATE THE FACT THAT EVERY SINGLE FEMALE IN THE MOVIE INCLUDING EVERY AGENT WAS WEARING HEELS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WTF!!!

From: Leela
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 9:50 AM
To: Mickey
  

I did not notice any heels! except for when black widow picked hers up and walked away. Which I almost stood up and clapped for.

I love my heels. I can understand that.

*swoon @ Loki* I’m glad you understand though. I LOVE YOU LOKI! LOL

“Have a care how you speak. Loki is beyond reason, but he is of Asgard. And he is my brother”

“He killed 80 people in two days.”

“He is adopted.”

 We are Ruffalo fans at my house.

I like Paltrow. Mainly becuase of Glee. Don’t dislike or like her in this role. Anyone could’ve played Ms. Potts.

I LOVED the backstories. Right outta the comics, and they were not boring. And of course freakin Whedon has to go and kill off a loveable character… RIP Coulson.

I am glad you thought it was good. Maybe now you will trust me?

Although I was right about Cabin in the Woods.

From: Mickey
To: Leela
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 10:34 AM
  

Funny that you quote that:

1. Avengers‘ Joke Ignites Online Protest by Adoption Community

mashable.com/2012/05/14/avengers-adoption-petition/

well… I thought it was good. I didn’t think it was great. And just because the stories were in the comics doesn’t MEAN THEY NEED TO BE IN THE MOVIE! IT’S A DIFFERENT MEDIUM!

YOU JUST SPENT LIKE TWO YEARS AND SOMETHING LIKE SIX MOVIES GIVING FREAKING BACKSTORY!

I DON’T need to know WHY people have the freaking motivation to DO EVERYTHING!

Sorry

About an hour in I really thought I was going to hate it because it was soooooooooooooooooo slow

And then the heels thing ticked me off. Put Captain America, Hawkeye and Iron Man in some heels too. It pissed me off because there is no need for heels (and YOU KNOW I LOVE ME SOME HEELS!) but not to save the world, it’s only there for aesthetics and even in SHIELD all the agents wore the same suits… except the women have to unzip theirs halfway and wear heels. It’s about nothing more than aesthetics and I can really appreciate the fact that Katniss and Ripley never wore heels to run and jump and shoot. Because REALLY?!!

Also, the movie theatre didn’t know who Stan Lee was!! Just a few people cheered/clapped when he was on screen!

Excelsior Bitches!

(Damn I miss his reality show, “Who Wants to be a Superhero!”)

From: Leela
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 10:51 AM
To: Mickey
  

That is what happens when you don’t go at midnight. People went ape shit when stan lee came on screen

And seriously. People need to take a joke. That shit was funny.

Again, loved the backstory lol I am okay with it. Especially because not everyone has seen all the movies or read the comics. I mean I don’t know who these people are but they are out there.

I am not sure how it was slow. I thought it was awesome seeing all the characters come together, where they were what they were doing.

Me likey. We can agree to disagree. No way on putting captain america and iron man heels no thanks. lol The shield agents all wore provacative suits. there was no need for them to be all sexy, but thats how it is in the comic world isnt it? I guess I was okay with it because there was so much eye candy for the ladies.

Not Just the Comic Book World Apparently!

From: Mickey
To: Leela
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 12:28 PM
  

http://www.sacbee.com/2012/05/04/4461239/movie-review-avengers-looks-great.html

From: Lela
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 12:40 PM
To: Mickey
  

Last email wasn’t meant towards you, lol. to the author of article

Dumbest review I have ever read in my life.

It’s a comic book movie. For the love of all that is holy! And it was great.

If you want a story that frickin transends stick to Sundance. Thanks.

No I am not defriending you. It will take more than you stomping all over my heart to do that. 😉

From: Mickey
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 12:43 PM
To: ‘Leela’
  

Lol

Yea…. I’m sorry we didn’t fall in love with it together.      Though, yea.. might be crushing on chris evans…

*furiously googling images*

would this prove that he just might own me?

When will you see “Attack the Block”?

Ok… now tell me all the things you loved about it, like you were dying to do back when you first saw it the first time.

From: Mickey
To: Leela
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 12:48 PM
Subject: FW: so

OMG

He was the guy in “Not Another Teen Movie”!!

Now I can’t get the image of him w/ a banana and whipped cream out of my head… in a decidedly non-schmexy way

Also… I didn’t think he was good looking in Scott Pilgrim

Apparently I just like him as Captain America…

Hmmmmm I dunno what to think about that

captain american in a whipped cream bikini.

From: Leela
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 12:54 PM
To: Mickey
  

Secretly you’re a giant patriot…. OR his body is 10 billion times better now.

When he lifted the punching bag and you could see all those arm muscles *drool*

From: Mickey
To: Leela
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 12:59 PM
  

I have no idea what it is, he just grew on me was all.

Kind of like you and Loki

Lol

Still The Hulk… awesome…

I have a comic where Deadpool is antagonizing the Hulk on purpose and it’s hilarious.

Since you’re a Ruffalo fan, have you seen “The Brothers Bloom” ?

From: Leela
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 1:42 PM
To: Mickey
  

no. I never heard of it.

I should retract my statement and say I am huge fan of the 3 movies I have seen him in. Seeing how according to IMDB much to learn I still have.

I did not care for the Hulk movies that were put out. Well the first one. I didnt see all of the Norton one. I enjoyed Ruffalo as the Hulk. He played troubled real well.

What I wanted to revisit the second time?

EVERYTHING.

All Loki Scenes

All scenes with Iron Man talking shit 😉

Black Widow at work, being called in

Tony Stark being called in

Bruce Banner in exile in India, being called in, scaring the shit outta Widow

Captain America – working out 😀

captain american working out gif

Thor coming in to take Loki

The fight in the forrest between Iron Man and Thor

Loki locked up

The playful and not so playful banter

Hulk punching Thor while fighting the bad guys

Hulk smash

Hulk smash on Loki

Hawkeye and Black Widow

Yeah. The whole thing.

From: Mickey
Sent: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 1:46 PM
To: Lela
  

LOL

HULK SMASH!

See ? it works as a  joss whedon drinking game for your next party!

Loki tries to do a whole speech and hulk says he ain’t playing it

Thor clubbin at toonerdygirls house party!

As for my bitching about all the females in the movie wearing heels, I will just defer to my favorite movie concerning sexy schmexy heels:

Then again Chiwetel Ejiofor wasn’t trying to save the world.

If anyone else cares, here are some articles that debate exactly this topic:

http://ifanboy.com/articles/high-heels-and-cleavage-windows-why-cant-female-superhero-costumes-be-sexy-and-functional/

http://blogs.longwood.edu/thomasandcomics/2011/06/28/the-female-superhero%E2%80%A6-high-heels-are-not-very-practical/

http://www.cracked.com/article_18591_the-5-most-impractical-aspects-superhero-costumes.html

Outside of the Marvel and Sex in the City universes, women usually need  a damn good reason to redistribute their weight between their toes and  mini-heel-stilts. However, when you take the solemn oath to fight crime while  giving it a boner, that dynamic is reversed. If a female crime fighter is  wearing flats, they usually have a damn good excuse…
Read more:  The 5 Most Impractical Aspects of Superhero Costumes | Cracked.com http://www.cracked.com/article_18591_the-5-most-impractical-aspects-superhero-costumes.html#ixzz1v8boREqN

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/scott-mendelson/the-avengers_b_1519725.html

Sienna Miller G.I. Joe

 

over 21 Avengers drinking game:

TAKE A DRINK WHEN…  •Someone is killed •There’s a fight scene  •Someone yells or roars •The hero changes his clothes  •See an explosion  •A news report on a television WHEN SOMEONE SAYS…  •a superhero’s name •Scientific mumbo-jumbo  •“S.H.I.E.L.D.” or “shield”  •The superhero’s civilian name

CHUG WHEN  •Stan Lee shows up

WATERFALL WHEN  •Samuel L. Jackson gives a questionable look

**DISCLAIMER** no one here recommends sneaking liquor into a theatre in order to play this game.

4 Responses to “Avengers Showing Off the Goods (also drinking game rules)”

  1. lelajazz May 17, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    The shield uniforms look better with heels. 😉

    • toonerdygirls May 17, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

      They did which is why everyone could have used them. 🙂

      • lelajazz May 18, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

        Nope, just for the ladies. And for the record there are a ton of women who need no other reason than “damn this shoe is fire” to wear heels. *stomps out the fire on mickey’s bra*

      • toonerdygirls May 22, 2012 at 5:21 am #

        you are talking to a girl who owns a CLOSET of heels…. so i understand. Also, since I wear them so frequently, I whole heartedly feel that I would not attempt to save the world while balancing on the balls of my feet. Though if I was going to stand there and promote myself, it would happen.

Leave a Reply

