Roland Deschain, Abe Lincoln and what to read next?

2 Jul

So, although I love to read, I have been accused of reading “trendy books”.  Yes, this was the phrase used.  I think this was after a lengthy conversation concerning the conceptualism of Moby Dick which included someone who stated that the only books they read are biographies.

image

Now, don’t get me wrong , I love some of the classics.  I was reading Edgar Allan Poe,  Arthur Conan Doyle, Bram Stoker, Sheridan LeFanu, Oscar Wilde, Hemingway in either middle school into high school.  I was in accelerated reading classes where we discussed, dissected and beat symbolism to a slow tortuous death in every possible way.   While there was nothing wrong with that, I enjoyed other novels as well.  I pretty much read anything people shoved at me.  I’m not much different now.  There is something about books that, no matter how much I dislike them, I HAVE to get all the way through to the end to see what happened.  Sometimes, if I didn’t like the book, I gave it away and passed it on.  Other times, I held on to them and still have them lovingly tucked away on a shelf, covers worn down, pages turning soft.

Even in this day and age of digital readers, I still love holding the weight and heft of an actual book in my hand.  There is a ton of convenience of being able to carry 100 books in my bag, but for the ones I love, I still go out and buy the space consuming paper ones.

My digital reader isn’t much different than my book shelves and holds a mix of Neil Gaiman, Lewis Carroll, Stephen King, Brian Lumley, Marie Lu, Arthur Machen.  The list could go on and on.

Really, I understand some people only want to read certain things, but I want to read a ton of things and I want to share it with everyone.

image

And when they get movie releases, oh, my hopes are so high!  I know it’s just going to hurt me in the end but I can’t help it!

image

It’s awful for those around me.  I talk about it for years until the release and sometimes I don’t even think it’s a 50/50 chance of liking it, but I WANT to so badly.  Then I go to the theatre and watch it….  Sometimes, it works out wonderfully and other times., there is just no saving it.

image

From: Lela

Sent: Wednesday, June 20, 2012 12:04 PM

To:    mickey

Subject: I’m baaaaack

Did ya miss me?

 

From:    mickey

To: Lela

Sent: Wednesday, June 20, 2012 12:04 PM

Subject: RE: I’m baaaaack

YeS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How was it?!

OMFGITWASSOAMAZING!

We need to go on a cruise together!  You can put a deposit down, and then pay little by little.  UGGGGH  Once I am out of my mini financial crisis thats what I am going to do.

Anyhoo.

So I ate, slept, read and tanned.  Made my little heart so happy!

And now I am so sad.  Back to reality.  *sigh*

I read the first Dark Tower book.  Tell me it gets better.

From:    mickey

To: Lela

Sent: Wednesday, June 20, 2012 1:14 PM

Subject: RE: I’m baaaaack

It does

That one is the hardest to get through

It’s laying groundwork

To: Lela

Sent: Wednesday, June 20, 2012 1:35 PM

To:    mickey

Subject: Re: I’m baaaaack

Ok.  Cuz I put it down and was like, um, thats it?  it was good, but not great.  I figured though.  It  took me a minute to get through the first hunger games but i pressed on.  Lol

 image

From:    mickey

To: Lela

Sent: Wednesday, June 20, 2012 2:03 PM

Subject: RE: I’m baaaaack

Yea the first book has actually been rewritten too

I read the original book and yes

It gets much much better

And you should see the graphic novels for it

 

From: Lela

Sent: Wednesday, June 20, 2012 2:09 PM

To:    mickey

Subject: Re: I’m baaaaack

yeah, I am imagining the graphic novels are amazing. but i want to read the first few books first 😉

I also got Abraham Lincoln Vampire hunter  I am starting that one before the next dark tower though.  i think.  i dunno.  DECISIONS!

From:    mickey <

To: Lela <

Sent: Wednesday, June 20, 2012 3:15 PM

Subject: RE: I’m baaaaack

Do it, it’s an easier read

But definitely go back!! It’s worth it!

From: Mickey <
To:  lela <   Sent: Tuesday, June 26, 2012 10:28 AM Subject: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

But although I haven’t seen the movie, the trailer itself turned me off the movie, although I really liked the book.

The book was written as a biography with small insertions of supernatural events.

The trailer shows a tall dark and brooding axe throwing BAMF with mad athletic skills… which was never the case in the novel?? Unless I misread it?

image

Also this and bad reviews:

http://io9.com/5921290/10-rules-of-blockbuster-movies-that-hollywood-forgot

Things that sound funny should be funny. This is sort of a marketing problem, but also sort of a storytelling problem. We can’t count how many times lately we’ve heard film-makers say stuff like, “Sure, the movie is called Cowboys & Aliens, but it’s not a comedy.” Ditto for Battleship and Abe Lincoln. We also heard a lot about how John Carter was trying not to be too comical. There seems to be a trend towards tackling goofy concepts in a dead-serious way, while still keeping a goofy title. It’s possible that for some concepts, the alternative to “comical” isn’t “serious,” but rather “dull.”

image

From:  lela
Sent: Tuesday, June 26, 2012 11:01 AM

To: Mickey

Subject: Re: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

I am reading the book.  It is incredibly good.
I hear poor reviews about the movie.  I believe I will wait for the HBO or Redbox release.

image

how could they do this to us?

Gosh, Maybe it’s better that The Dark Tower project was shut down??  I don’t know if I could deal with these kind of articles surrounding it!

Leave a Reply

